Home » About Us

About Us

What Is PEG Access TV?

Public, Education and Government access TV provides the public with free access to the use of television, via the cable television network, as a way to reach other members of their community. Cameras, editing equipment, and technical direction are made available through an agreement with the cable service provider which, in Martha’s Vineyard’s case, is Comcast.

Island residents can create any kind of programming they want, whether it be sharing a special interest or talent, or educating the community on local historical or environmental issues, or even entertaining them with an artistic or musical program.

Martha’s Vineyard Community Television is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit organization that is controlled and operated by island residents. No commercial or political advertising appears on the station. Additionally, MVTV consists of not one but three channels, a cable-access model familiarly known as PEG (public, education, government).

PEG stations typically provide viewers with one channel for publicly-produced programs, one educational outlet for education shows or programming produced by students in the local school system, and a Government channel for local government meetings.

How Is It Funded?

The cable service provider makes periodic payments of an agreed upon percentage of its annual gross revenues, which is then used to operate the PEG Access TV station and upgrade its equipment and facilities. As our equipment, facility and personnel needs grow, we may also supplement our budget with fundraising efforts.

MVTV Staff

Stephen Warriner, Executive Director

Kelly Marolf, Director of Operations & Productions

Michelle Vivian, Access Coordinator & Instructor

Shavanáe Anderson, Programming & Facilities Coordinator

Government Videographers
Joanie Ames

Heidi Carter

Lynn Christoffers

Lynne Fraker

Alison Frazier-Hayden

Kelly Marolf

Jim Osmundsen

Dusko Stajic


MVTV Board of Directors
    Anne Whiting, Chairman – Member Elected
Ann Bassett, Vice-Chair – Member Elected
Bill McGrath, Treasurer – Oak Bluffs Appointee
Wayne Greenwell – Member Elected
Richard Knabel – Member Elected
John McCormick – Member Elected
Geoffrey Parkhurst – Chilmark Appointee
Richard Skidmore – Aquinnah Appointee
Bob Tankard – Tisbury Appointed
Gail Tipton – West Tisbury Appointee
Peter Vincent – Edgartown Appointee
Rebecca Barca-Tinus – School Board Appointed
Helen Green – Board Appointed